Print Resources | Databases | Accounting Student Help and Tutorials | General Accounting | Financial Standars | Tax Sites | Accounting Membership Organizations

 Print Resources

The Culinary Main branch has many great print resources for use in the accounting program at Hickey College. We have many books covering topics such as auditing, financial statements, QuickBooks, and Sarbanes-Oxley as well as magazines such as the Journal of Accountancy. Search the Library Catalog for a specific topic. If you need help to find any of these resources, ask a librarian!

Back to Top

Databases

FASB Accounting Standards Codification
Access remotely and on-campus.

Business Insights : Essentials
A Gale database. Find 10K’s, 10Q’s and other other filings by clicking on Financials in a company profile. On the next page, click on the Financials Dashboard tab and then on the Research link located on the View: bar.

Back to Top

Accounting Student Help and Tutorials

AccountingCoach
Includes thousands of practice questions with interactive drills and puzzles that provide immediate feedback.

WyzAnt Accounting Lessons and Help
Video and text-based accounting tutorials. Designed to help focus your studies and provide a review of major concepts introduced in most college classes and supplement your textbook.

Back to Top

General Accounting Websites

Accounting SmartPros
Provides news about many areas of accounting as well as access to online accounting resources. Includes links to other accounting, auditing, finance, and tax sites.

Accounting Terminology Guide
Concise definitions of accounting terms from the New York State Society of CPAs.

Accounting Today
Constantly updated resource for the latest accounting-related news. Sign up for a free subscription to e-newsletters on a variety of topics.

AccountingWEB
An online community for the accounting professional working in small and medium-sized firms.

CPA Technology Blog
Brian Tankersley, CPA.CITP, CGMA blogs on technology issues and news for accountants of all types.

EDGAR (SEC)
Search EDGAR for real-time filings and other company information. From the Secutiy and Eschange Commission.

Back to Top

Financial Standards

Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB)
Homepage of the FASB. Provides information about the FASB standards, useful accounting links and other accounting-related information.

Government Accounting Standards Board (GASB)
Homepage of the GASB. Provides information about the GASB standards, useful accounting links and other accounting-related information.

International Accounting Standards Board (IASB)
The IASB is the independent standard-setting body of the International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) Foundation.

Public Company Accounting Oversite Board (PCAOB)
A nonprofit corporation established by Congress to oversee the audits of public companies in order to protect the interests of investors and further the public interest in the preparation of informative, accurate and independent audit reports.

Back to Top

Tax Sites

IRS Home Page
Contains tax forms and publications, statistics and regulations written in plain English.

Nicholas J. Pennewell, CPA-Where Every Penny Matters
The author of this blog provides updates on business tax law.

Our Taxing Times
A blog about US taxes, tax system, and the tax preparation business.

Tax and Accounting Sites Directory
Extensive, organized directory of tax, payroll and accounting websites.

U.S. Tax Code Online
Access the complete text of the United States Internal Revenue Code, Title 26 of the U.S. Code (26 USC) in a variety of ways. Links have been embedded in the Code to permit following cross-references between sections with a simple mouse click.

Back to Top

Membership Organizations / Accounting Professionals

A list of membership organizations and certification programs for accounting professionals.

Association of Certified Public Accountants — Certified Public Accountants

Association of Accountants and Financial Professionals in Business — Certified Management Accountants

American Payroll Association — Certified Payroll Professional

The Institute of Internal Auditors — Certified Internal Auditor

ISACA — Certified Information Systems Auditor

National Society of Accountants — Membership

Back to Top