Print Resources | Library Research Databases | SWEBOK Guide | General Computer Technology Websites | Internet Resources by Category

 

Print Resources

We have many books covering topics such as network security, certification exam guides, agile software development and game programming. We also have print magazines available in the library such as Software Development Times.

Search the Library Catalog for a specific topic. If you need help to find any of these resources, ask a librarian!

 

Library Research Databases

EBSCO Databases
For information on computer-related topics, search the following EBSCO databases:

  • Academic Search Elite
  • MAS Ultra – School Edition
  • MasterFILE Premier
  • Science Reference Center

 

SWEBOK Guide

From the IEEE Computer Society. Guide to the Software Engineering Body of Knowledge. 2004 Version. (We also have a print version available in our Westport branch.)

Back to Top

 

General Computer Technology Websites

Almost Every File Format in the World — An alphabetical list of file formats.

Free Online Dictionary of Computing (FOLDOC)  — Supported by the United Kingdom’s Imperial College Department of Computing.

Galaxy.com — The computer technology section of the web’s original, searchable directory that contains annotated and categorized web sites on various aspects of computer technology.

How Stuff Works – Computer Channel — Easy-to-understand, updated, unbiased facts and explanations. Includes videos and games.

NetLingo — Thousands of definitions that explain the online world of business, technology, and communication, including the largest list of text and chat acronyms. Subscribe to their Word of the Day.

TechTutorials — A directory of over 5,000 free tutorials for IT professionals, hobbyists, and home users. Their goal is to help you solve your computer problems and learn new technologies using the many existing free tutorials available on the Internet.

Webopedia — Online dictionary for computer and internet-related terms and definitions

Whatis?Com — Easy-to-locate, extensive, categorized definitions of computer-related terms for IT professionals.

The WWW Virtual Library – Computing and Computer Science — Extensive annotated listing of web sites, organized by category.

Back to Top

 

Internet Resources by Category

(Click on a link in the table below to access the web sites in the category.)

Ethics & Privacy Programming
History of Computers & the Internet Security & Viruses
Networks & Operating Systems Women in Computer Technology
News

 

Ethics and Privacy

EPIC (Electronic Privacy Information Center) — A public interest research center in Washington, D.C. It was established in 1994 to focus public attention on emerging civil liberties issues and to protect privacy, the First Amendment, and constitutional values.

Computer Ethics — From the organization, Computer Ethics Institute…The Ten Commandments of Computer Ethics. (pdf file)

Computer and Information Ethics — An extensive entry (with references) in the online Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy.

Electronic Frontier Foundation — Organization working to “protect our fundamental rights regardless of technology; to educate the press, policymakers and the general public about civil liberties issues related to technology; and to act as a defender of those liberties”.

Back to Category Table

 

History of Computers and the Internet

Computer History Museum — The online exhibits of this California-based museum include Internet History, Revolution: The First 2000 Years of Computing and Mastering the Game: A History of Computer Chess.

Internet Wayback Machine — See previous versions of websites from different points in time

Living Computer Museum — From Microsoft’s Paul Allen. Located in Seattle, it is a showcase for a collection of machines, peripherals, software, and documentation. Online visitors can request accounts on still operational hardware to run programs and experience using computers such as the DECSYSTEM-2065 and Toad-1.

Back to Category Table

 

Networks and Operating Systems

Broadband Reports — DSLreports.com (Est. 1999) provides a neutral forum to share Broadband ISP reviews, news & information.

The Beginners Linux Guide — Includes guides on how to install the OS, use the command shell, configure hardware and ‘become a super user’.

MAC OS X — The official site for the most recent version of MAC OS.

Microsoft Operating Systems — The official site for the Microsoft Windows operating system.

Network Computing — Provides information on designing, building and managing networks.

Unix Tutorial for Beginners — A beginners guide to the Unix and Linux operating system. Eight simple tutorials which cover the basics of UNIX / Linux commands.

Back to Category Table

 

News

CIO — Covers emerging enterprise technologies. Topics include apps, cloud computing, data centers, operating systems, outsourcing, security, virtualization and web 2.0.

CNET — Tech news, product reviews and price comparisons.

InfoWorld — Provides information for senior technology decisions makers. Current topics include apps, cloud computing, data centers, mobile technology, security, and virtualization.

Maximum PC — Includes tech news, reviews, and how to’s.

OSNews — Not just about operating systems. Also includes information on hardware and development issues.

PCMag — Provides technology info for the consumer. Topics include desktops, laptops, tablets, phones, software, and hardware.

PCWorld and MacWorld — Both offer consumers news, reviews, comparisons, how to’s and the business world applications of technology…Full-text articles from both magazines are available in the library’s EBSCO MasterFile Premier database.

Slashdot — “News for nerds. Stuff that matters”

TechCrunch — “TechCrunch is a leading technology media property, dedicated to obsessively profiling startups, reviewing new Internet products, and breaking tech news.”

Technology Review — Offers technology information from MIT….Full-text articles from Technology Review are available in the library’s EBSCO MasterFile Premier database.

TED — TED stands for Technology, Entertainment, and Design. Watch TEDTalks to get inspired by people and technology.

Wired — A daily technology website.

ZDNet — Includes news on tech companies, hardware, software, mobile technology, security, a tech dictionary, reviews, white papers, videos and podcasts. ZDNet is a CNET “professional brand.”

Back to Category Table

 

Programming

C programming.com — Contains tutorials on how to program in C and C++.

C++ Programming Language — Provides extensive information about C++ as well as links to other web sites. Provided by the scientist at ATT.com who designed the language.

Codecademy — Learn Javascript programming through online exercises.

GameDev.net — A resource for game developers of all fields and expertise. They have collected resources from around the Internet and have discussion forums with questions and answers by developers from around the world.

HTML Goodies — HTML Goodies intended purpose is to help new and growing website developers learn their trade, and to provide them with tips, guides and reference sets for their use as they become more accomplished.

Java — Oracle’s Java website.  Contains tutorials, articles, documentation, and more for Java developers.

JGuru — Java applets, tutorials and FAQ’s are a few of the many valuable resources available on this site.

PHP — If you are new to PHP and want to get some idea of how it works, try the introductory tutorial. After that, check out the online manual, and the example archive sites and some of the other resources available in the links section.

Programmers Heaven — An extensive source of free programming downloads, source code, utilities and other tools for developing solutions using .NET, Assembly, Basic, C, C#, C++, Delphi, Java, JavaScript, Pascal, Perl, PHP, Python, Ruby, VB-Script, Visual Basic and other languages and technologies. Featuring over 32,000 categorized and organized resources.

SQLCourse.com — A resource providing easy-to-understand SQL instructions. Allows you to practice what you learn using the on-line SQL interpreter.

Back to Category Table

 

Security and Viruses

Computer Crime & Intellectual Property Section — New and reports from the U.S. Department of Justice.

Computer Security Resource Center — From the National Institute of Standards and Technology.

Symantec’s A-Z Listing of Threats and Risks — Updated, alphabetical list of malware and viruses. Many contain concise technical details reports.

Back to Category Table

 

Women in Computer Technology

The Ada Project — A clearinghouse for information and resources related to women in computing. TAP serves primarily as a collection of links to other online resources, rather than as an archive. TAP includes information on conferences, projects, discussion groups and organizations, fellowships and grants, notable women in Computer Science, and other electronically accessible sites.

AWC — Association for Women in Computing.

Women in Programming — Annotated list of historical and recent examples of famous women programmers. Links provided to web sites with more information on each entry.

Back to Category Table
Back to Top

Advertisements