Library Research Databases | Plagiarism & Citation Exercises | Chef Biographies | Culinary News – Local | Culinary News – National | General Culinary Websites | Nutrition | Recipes | Resources for Starting a Restaurant | Culinary Library Resources After Graduation | Scholarship Resources

Library Research Databases

EBSCO Databases
For articles on topics related to the culinary arts, search the following EBSCO databases:

  • Academic Search Elite
  • MasterFILE Premier
  • Consumer Health Complete
  • Newspaper Source

Gale Business Insights: Essentials
Find company information on chain restaurants, food producers, and food distributors. Companies include:

  • Bumble Bee Seafoods
  • ConAgra
  • O’Charley’s
  • Panera Bread
  • Papa John’s
  • Taco Bell

Back to Top

Plagiarism & Citation Exercises

To practice paraphrasing check out Paraphrase Craze, a web activity authored by Carol Rine, and published by Beacon Learning Center.

Also, check out the exercise Identifying Acceptable Paraphrases, created by Jennifer Madej at Milwaukee Area Technical College.

To test your skills against plagiarism check out Goblin Threat, a web game authored by Mary Broussard and Jessica Urick Oberlin, and published online by Lycoming College.

Back to Top

Chef Biographies

See Culinary Biographies (TX649 .A1 C85 2006) on the Reference shelf.

Search for a famous chef in the Catalog.

Search the library’s EBSCO Databases to find biographical information and articles about famous chefs.

The People section of Times Topics (from the New York Times) also includes biographical information and articles on famous chefs.

StarChefs.com and Biography.com feature biographies on famous chefs.

Back to Top

Culinary News – Local

For hyperlocal news, read about what’s been going on right here at the Culinary Institute of St. Louis in the latest Term Paper! At the end of the first term for each group of new culinary students, Culinary Institute Director Chef Desens publishes a Term Paper newsletter, which is distributed to all students, faculty, and staff.

Current and past Term Paper issues are available here:

Term Paper, Volume 6, Issue 2 (2015 January)
Term Paper, Volume 5, Issue 2 (2014 September)
Term Paper, Volume 5, Issue 1 (2014 May)
Term Paper, Volume 4, Issue 4 (2014 February)
Term Paper, Volume 4, Issue 3 (2013 September)
Term Paper, Volume 4, Issue 2 (2013 June)
Term Paper, Volume 4, Issue 1 (2013 January)
Term Paper, Volume 3, Issue 2 (2012 September)
Term Paper, Volume 3, Issue 1 (2012 May)
Term Paper, Volume 2, Issue 1 (2011 December)
Term Paper, Volume 1, Issue 3 (2011 August)
Term Paper, Volume 1, Issue 2 (2011 April)
Term Paper, Volume 1, Issue 1 (2010 December)

To find out what’s new on the St. Louis culinary scene, check out the following:

Feast

Restaurant section of the Riverfront Times

Restaurant section of the St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Sauce Magazine

St. Louis Magazine’s Relish Blog

Back to Top

Culinary News – National

Dining & Wine Section of the New York Times

Diner’s Journal
This blog features culinary news and opinions from the New York Times.

Food and Wine Section of the Seattle Times

Food Section of the San Francisco Chronicle

Food and Dining Section of the Chicago Tribune
Find out what’s new on the culinary scene just across the river.

ProChef SmartBrief
Daily summaries of important news in the culinary industry. Sign up for ProChef SmartBrief with your email address or view issues by date on the website.

Sizzle
Sizzle is the American Culinary Federation’s quarterly magazine for culinary students. It features information on the job market, scholarships, mentoring, continuing education, culinary trends, and culinary techniques.

Back to Top

General Culinary Websites

Chefs de Cuisine Association of St. Louis
This is the St. Louis chapter of the American Culinary Federation. The chapter “is a non-profit organization of culinary professionals dedicated to furthering the education, certification and camaraderie within our culinary community, and responding to the social and nutritional needs of our community at large.” — from the “About” section of the website.

Cooking District
The Cooking District was created by experienced, working chefs. It offers an online community and several resources related to the culinary arts and food service.

Food Page on ipl2
The Food Page on ipl2 offers links to relevant and reputable websites. The website was developed by librarians and other information science professionals associated with Drexel University’s College of Information Science & Technology and a consortium of other colleges and universities.

Martindale’s Cooking Techniques & Recipes Center
This website offers links to cooking and beverage measurement information, conversion guidelines, cooking videos, a recipe index, and much more.

Back to Top

Nutrition

Culinary Nutrition News
Culinary Nutrition News offers free monthly articles on the latest culinary nutrition trends. The publication is brought to you by the American Culinary Federation and Clemson University.

Food and Nutrition Information Center
From the USDA.

MedlinePlus on Nutrition
Learn more about nutrition from the National Institutes of Health.

SmartBrief for Nutritionists
Daily summaries of important news about food and nutrition. Sign up for SmartBrief for Nutritionists with your email address or view issues by date on the website.

Back to Top

Recipes

These websites feature recipes, menus, guides, and cooking videos:

CHOW

Epicurious

Back to Top

Resources for Starting a Restaurant

Local Government and Community Websites

Once you have chosen your restaurant location, you should find local government and community websites to learn more about your area and your competition.

Official City/County/Town Website
e.g., City of Maryland Heights (website includes demographics, and interactive city and crime maps).

Visitors Bureau
e.g., Maryland Heights Visitors Bureau (includes list of restaurants andevents calendar).

Chamber of Commerce
e.g., Maryland Heights Chamber of Commerce (includes guide for starting a new business in Missouri and map of Maryland Heights).

Demographics

To find out the basics about your target market (population size, income, age, and gender), see the library’s Guide to Demographics for Starting a Restaurant.

Consumer Expenditure Survey
Shows what people spend their money on. Note the category Food Away From Home, which indicates money spent at restaurants. The Current Expenditure Tables break down the data by region, income, age, etc. Combine this data with your local demographics for a good idea of what people in your area are likely to spend at restaurants per year.

St. Louis Regional Chamber Association
Includes specific regional data.

St. Louis County Demographics
See St. Louis County Data Summary and Crime Incident Maps.

St. Louis City Census Reports
See Neighborhood Census Results and 2010 Census Map.

University of Missouri’s Office of Social and Economic Development Analysis
Includes Missouri census data.

U.S. Census Bureau
Offers raw census data and reports.

Local Restaurants

After you have learned about your area, you should look up local restaurants to find out more about your competition.

St. Louis Fine Restaurant Guide
Offers a basic lists of restaurants in certain St. Louis areas.

Sauce Magazine’s Find a Restaurant Tool
Search by location.

Riverfront Times Restaurant Search
Filter by neighborhood.

Urbanspoon St. Louis
Select your neighborhood.

St. Louis County Restaurant Inspections
Browse by zip code or use the “Advanced Report Search.”

St. Louis City Dining Establishment Health Ratings and Inspection Reports
Search by neighborhood or zip code.

St. Louis Post-Dispatch Dining Section
Find restaurant reviews and news.

Gale Business Insights: Essentials
If your competition includes a large or chain restaurant, you may be able to find detailed company information and financial data in this database.

Potential Purveyors

ACF Chefs de Cuisine Association of St. Louis – List of Purveyors
Use this list as a starting point.

Yellow Pages

Food Wholesalers

Restaurant Supplies

Restaurant Equipment & Supplies

B&J/Peerless Online Food Service Catalog
Use this catalog to get sample pricing.

Small Business Resources

Small Business Administration
See Writing a Business Plan.

Sample Business Plans
See Restaurant Sample Business Plans.

Sample Marketing Plans
See Restaurant Marketing Plan.

ASBDC Resources for Small Businesses

Back to Top

Culinary Library Resources After Graduation

You are always welcome to drop by the Culinary Branch to use our great culinary collection in the library. Unfortunately, if you are no longer a student, you will not be able to check items out of the library.

However, if you live, work, or pay taxes in St. Louis City, St. Louis County, or any of the following library districts: Brentwood Public Library; Ferguson Public Library; Kirkwood Public Library; Maplewood Public Library; Richmond Heights Public Library; Rock Hill Public Library; St. Charles City-County Library; St. Louis County Library; University City Public Library; Valley Park Public Library; Webster Groves Public Library, you are entitled to a free St. Louis Public Library card.

The St. Louis Public Library has a wonderful culinary arts collection at its Central Location. Library card holders may request items from Central to be delivered to a different branch for convenient pick up. Browse the SLPL catalog or contact an SLPL librarian today!

Back to Top

Scholarship Resources

Some scholarships require you to write an essay. There are many excellent resources available online to help you write a great scholarship essay. Check out some of these links.

Back to Top

Advertisements