Library Resources

Books
The library has several books on economics, economists, and finance. Search the library catalog to find a book on your topic.

Research Databases
For articles on economic issues and economists, search the following EBSCO database groups:

Academic

  • Academic Search Elite
  • MasterFILE Premier

General Interest

  • Book Collection Nonfiction
  • Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
  • Newspaper Source
  • MAS Ultra – School Edition

Some economists are also included in Gale’s Discovering Collection.

Websites

Concise Encyclopedia of Economics
Search The Concise Encyclopedia of Economics online for biographies of economists, encyclopedia entries, articles, and entire books on a variety of economic topics. (Use this for your Economists project.)

Nobel Prize in Economics
Find out more about Economics Laureates. (Use this for your Economists project.)

Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics offers a number of economic and financial databases and calculators. Take a look at the Economy at a Glance, Databases, Tables & Calculators by Subject, and Resources for Consumers.

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
The FDIC offers (among other services) consumer information about banking, personal finance, loans, mortgages, and identity theft, as well as industry analysis tools. The FDIC’s free online Money Smart course helps consumers learn about banking, saving, credit, and home ownership.

Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
The Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis offers an Economic Research portal.   Page One Economics contains timely economic essays, with information and explanation—the back story on front page economics.

Federal Trade Commission
At the FTC Bureau of Consumer Protection you will find a number of consumer services, including the National Do Not Call Registry and information on how to access your free credit report.

Yahoo! Finance
At Yahoo! Finance, you get free stock quotes, news, portfolio management resources, international market data, message boards, and mortage rates.

Advertisements