Librarians | Databases | Books | Videos | Copyright Permission Requests | Plagiarism Prevention | Google Classroom

Librarians

The Hickey College librarians are great instructor resources!

Contact the librarian today to schedule your library instruction session at ppeiffer@my.hickeycollege.edu.

Hickey College Library Teaching Methodology Resources

This guide to books, DVDs, and online resources about teaching methodology was created by the librarians to help instructors find tools to assist them with their classroom instruction and professional development. The list is not comprehensive. If you are looking for a resource that is not listed, please let a librarian know so we may help you find what you need.

Google Classroom

Need help utilizing Google Classroom to it’s full potential? Schedule a research coaching session and the librarians can help you navigate Google Classroom. We can help you create quizzes, tests, worksheets, and much more through Google Classroom.

Here are some YouTube videos that are great tutorials:

  1. Classroom 101
  2. How to use Google Docs
  3. How to use Google Forms

On the Floor at Dove

Vet Tech instructor resource full of instructional videos. Please contact the library to request a login.

To access please click here.

Databases

Education & Professional Development for Instructors

The Education & Professional Development for Instructors group of EBSCO databases includes:

ERIC
The Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.

Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.

Back to Top

Books

The Hickey College Library has several professional development books for instructors. Topics include learning, teaching, grading, and motivation,  Ask a librarian for a book on a topic that interests you.

Videos

Films on Demand
Films On Demand is a streaming video platform that allows for unlimited viewing of over 13,000 educational films, news clips, and documentaries on campus and at home. All films include public performance rights, which means Hickey College instructors can legally show videos in the classroom.

Library DVDs
The Hickey College Library has DVDs that include public performance rights, which means Hickey College instructors can legally show videos in the classroom.

Note: The library has not obtained public performance rights for every DVD in its collection. Before you show a DVD to your class, check with a librarian to see whether public performance rights have been obtained.

Annenberg Media
Annenberg Media provides access to professional development materials for educators. The resources are free, and include video-on-demand, live streaming video events, and other materials available for purchase. The site also provides access to the Annenberg Channel, a free satellite channel for schools, libraries, colleges, universities, and other public access channels.

The library has received permission for Hickey College instructors to legally show Annenberg’s videos-on-demand to students.

Back to Top

Copyright Permission Requests

As soon as a work is fixed in any sort of tangible form (this includes, visual, online, print, etc.) it is covered by the Copyright Act. The copyright symbol (©) or copyright registration is not required in order for the work to be covered by the law.

We, the Hickey College Library, uphold copyright laws and encourage faculty to ask for help to use copyrighted materials in their instruction.

The Copyright Act grants the copyright holder the following exclusive rights:

  • to reproduce the copyrighted work
  • to prepare derivative works based on the copyrighted work
  • to distribute copies of the copyrighted work
  • to perform the copyrighted work publicly
  • to display the copyrighted work publicly

The Fair Use section of the Copyright Act does put some limitations on these exclusive rights. However, it does not give instructors the right to use copyrighted works in any way they see fit.

If you would like to show a video (whether online or in DVD or VHS format) to your class, you will need public performance rights.

If you would like to distribute copies of print materials to your students, you will need to obtain written permission from the copyright holder.

Please consult with one of the librarians so that we may attempt to obtain the permissions that you need. As part of this process, we may ask you to fill out the Hickey College Copyright Permission Request Form.

Hickey College Copyright Permission Request Form (printer-friendly version)
You may print this version, fill it out, and then send it to the library.

For a more details about the need for copyright permissions, see the memo Showing Videos in Class and Distributing Copyrighted Material. For an overview of copyright, see the video Copyright Basics, provided by the Copyright Clearance Center. Also, check out this helpful brochure: Know Your Copy Rights. Let us know if you have any questions.

Back to Top

Plagiarism Prevention

Students receive the following handout regarding plagiarism prevention during library orientation: Tips for Avoiding Plagiarism.

 

Back to Top