Research Databases |  General Veterinary Websites | Internet Resources by Subject

Research Databases

EBSCO Databases
Search EBSCOHost, Consumer Health Complete, or Science Reference Center through the EBSCO interface.

Gale Databases
Search Opposing Viewpoints In Context or the Gale Virtual Reference Library for science related content.

CONSULTANT
CONSULTANT is a database of veterinary diagnoses and symptoms created by a veterinarian at the University of Cornell. It can be searched by choosing symptoms/signs to obtain possible diagnoses or by searching by diagnosis/causes to obtain a listing of signs or symptoms. The database is updated weekly. Print the CONSULTANT Guide to help with your search.

PubMed MEDLINE
PubMed MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine’s premier database that contains over 19 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Searching PubMed MEDLINE is a great way to find full-text veterinary articles.
Print the Guide to Veterinary Medicine Searching in PubMed MEDLINE to help with your search.

Merck Veterinary Manual
For over 50 years, The Merck Veterinary Manual has been a trusted source of animal health information for students and practicing veterinarians. It contains authoritative guidelines for the diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of animal disorders and diseases. More than 1100 full-color images, audio examples, videos, and links to related information enhance the expansive coverage of companion, production, exotic, and laboratory animals.

Back to Top

Veterinary eBooks

The following veterinary science eBooks are available through Science Direct.

Canine and Feline Nutrition, 3rd ed.
Canine Rehabilitation and Physical Therapy, 2nd ed.
Color Atlas of Veterinary Pathology, 2nd ed.
Diagnostic Radiology and Ultrasonography of the Dog and Cat, 5th ed.
Equine Applied and Clinical Nutrition
Ferrets, Rabbits, and Rodents, 3rd ed.
Handbook of Small Animal Practice, 5th ed.
Handbook of Small Animal Radiology and Ultrasound, 2nd ed.
Handbook of Equine Emergencies
Handbook of Veterinary Neurology, 5th ed.
Small Animal Dermatology, 3rd ed.
Small Animal Ophthalmology, 4th ed.
Small Animal Toxicology, 2nd ed.
Textbook of Rabbit Medicine, 2nd ed.
The Athletic Horse, 2nd ed.
Veterinary Anaesthesia, 11th ed.
Veterinary Dentistry for the General Practitioner, 2nd ed.
Veterinary Hematology
Zoo and Wild Animal Medicine, 6th ed.

If you are off-campus, you will need to log in to use Science Direct. Remote log in will be explained to you during your librarian orientation. If you are having trouble logging in, please email the library at library@hickeycollege.edu or text a librarian at 314-384-6854.

Back to Top

General Veterinary Websites

IVIS
The International Veterinary Information Service offers veterinary health professionals free access to an online library. Registration is required.

Mammal Species of the World
Contains the names of the 4,629 currently recognized species of mammals, in a taxonomic hierarchy that includes Order, Family, Subfamily, and Genus. New address

Merck Veterinary Manual
Search and browse Merck online.

Penn Veterinary Medicine (Computer Aided Learning)
An extensive, interactive web site to supplement your studies. Includes graphics, video clips, and case study formats.

St. Louis Zoo
The St. Louis Zoo’s web site contains easy to understand information about all of the animals you can find at the zoo.

VSPN
The Veterinary Support Personnel Network offers great resources for veterinary support staff and students in veterinary technician programs. Membership is free, but registration is required. Vet Tech students are highly encouraged to register and use this great resource.

Back to Top

Internet Resources by Subject

(Click on a link in the table below to access the web sites in the category.)

Anatomy & Physiology Tutorials and Quizzes Drugs & Toxicology
Animal Channels Image Databases
Animal Handling Laboratory Animal Research
Animal Health, Welfare, and Disease Nutrition
Associations & Organizations Parasitology
Books, Journal, & Magazine Articles Online Surgery/Anesthesia
Citation & Plagiarism Help Veterinary Communications
Dosages, Ratios, & Metric System Tutorials & Quizzes Zoonotic Diseases
Chemistry Game

Anatomy & Physiology Tutorials & Quizzes

Interactive Drawings – Veterinary Anatomy
View thumbnail images, each of which is linked to an interactive drawing or dissection. Includes feline, canine, porcine, caprine, ovine, bovine and equine species.

Interactive Games – Livestock Identification
From the Agripedia at the University of Kentucky’s College of Agriculture. Includes quizzes on equine and bovine skelatal systems and on external anatomy of cows, horses, pigs and roosters.

Back to Category Table

Animal Channels

Dog Channel
Cat Channel
Bird Channel
Horse Channel
Fish Channel
Small Animal Channel (Ferrets, Rabbits, Chinchillas, Hamsters, Guinea Pigs, Mice and Rats, Gerbils, Hedgehogs and Sugar Gliders)
Reptile Channel

Back to Category Table

Animal Health, Welfare, & Disease

Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
A branch of the USDA. Under Subject, see Animal Health, Animal Welfare, and Import and Export.

Animal Legal and Historical Web Center
From the Michigan State University College of Law.  Includes materials such as laws by state, court cases, articles, historical information and other documents regarding of animal law.

Animal Welfare Information Center
Sponsored by the Animal Welfare Information Center, which is part of the USDA.  It contains research and information about the well being of animals used in agriculture, research, and entertainment.

Longevity Records
Life Spans of Mammals, Birds, Amphibians, Reptiles, and Fish. Information is current as of 2000 (when originally published as a book).

National Animal Disease Center
This site is under the U. S. Department of Agriculture Agricultural Research Service.

Back to Category Table

Animal Handling

Basic Animal Handling and Restraint
From the Humane Society Veterinary Medical Association-Rural Area Veterinary Services program (HSVMA-RAVS)…a pdf file.

Basic Livestock Handling
Information from Dr. Temple Grandin. Great illustrations and photos.

Horse Handling  
Nice twenty page document, with photo illustrations, on how to safely handle horses. (a pdf file)

Restraint and Handling of Laboratory Animals
From the University of Minnesota. Although the information is designed to help laboratory researchers, it could be useful to anyone who restrains and handles animals during medical procedures.

Back to Category Table

Citation & Plagiarism Help

MLA Style
MLA (Modern Language Association) style is the official citation style used in Hickey College and most Vet Tech classes.

AMA Style
Some veterinary instructors may ask you to use AMA (American Medical Association) citation style.

Goblin Threat – Plagiarism Game

Dosages, Ratios, & Metric Systems-Tutorials and Quizzes

All About Ratios – Quiz
Simple, short quiz on ratios.

Drug Calculations for Health Professionals
Test yourself on drugs and dosages.

Fluid Dosage Calculation Quiz
Twenty-five multiple choice questions selected randomly from a pool of 60 items to test / refresh your knowledge / skills about calculating fluid medication dosages.

Back to Category Table

Chemistry Games

Chemistry Mahjong
This is a really fun way to practice many different chemistry skills. From beginner to advanced, there are games for everyone. There is also a free app to play the game on your Smartphone!

Back to Category Table

Image Databases

Animal Science Image Gallery 
The Animal Science Image Gallery is a collaborative project of the USDA National Agricultural Library and the American Society of Animal Science.

Hematology Atlas
From Cornell University College of Veterinay Medicine. The Leukocytes, Platelets, and Blood Cells by Species sections are particularly useful.

Images – Merck Veterinary Manual 
Categorized links to all images available in the Merck Veterinary Manual

Necropsy Show and Tell: Veterinary Pathology Images
Produced by Dr. John M. King, DVM, Professor of Pathology, Cornell College of Veterinary Medicine.

Veterinary Clinical Pathology Image Database
Funded by the University of Montreal. Provides hematology, urology, and cytology images.

Back to Category Table

Books, Journal & Magazine Articles Online

Free Books 4 Doctors
Links to 360 free, full-text medical books.

NCBI Bookshelf
Search full-text biomedical books provided by the National Center for Biotechnology Information. Also searchable in Entrez, listed above.

Vetlearn
Qualified veterinarians and veterinary technicians may sign up for a free digital subscription to Compendium and Veterinary Technician at Vetlearn.com.

CRIS
The Current Research Information System is maintained by the U. S. Department of Agriculture and provides summaries of recent and ongoing research in (among other areas) food and nutrition and agriculture.

National Agricultural Library
This site is maintained by the United States Department of Agriculture. See “Animals and Livestock” under “Browse by Subject” and search AGRICOLA (the NAL Catalog) for agriculture article abstracts.

Tails
This site contains Tails, published by the Human Society of Missouri. Scroll down the page to access PDF versions of the newsletter.

WHOLIS
World Health Organization Library & Information Networks for Knowledge Database. Find full-text articles and books by choosing ONLINE as the location.

Back to Category Table

Veterinary Communications

A Vet’s Guide to Life
Nice blog posts on best practices of communication in veterinary offices from a variety of veterinary professionals

DVM360 Team Center
Great resource for brief articles on veterinary office communications. Divided into sections on dealing with clients (especially Client Service and Client Conflict), co-workers (Team Conflict and Team Communication) and doctors (Doctor Conflict and Doctor Communication).

Communication Project (Bayer Animal Health)
The Practitioner page at this site contains links to a number of concise, easy-to-understand handouts on various aspects of communication in the veterinary office setting.

Speaking for Spot 
A blog by noted author and veterinarian, Dr. Nancy Kay, written for the pet owner. It contains a number of posts on best practices in communication between pet owners and the veterinary office.

Back to Category Table

Drugs and Toxicology

Animal Drugs@FDA
Searchable database of FDA-approved animal drugs and methods for their use.

Veterinary Information from Drugs.com 
Features over 5,000 pharmaceutical, biological, diagnostic, feed medications and parasiticide product monographs categorized by species and treatment type.

FDA – Center for Veterinary Medicine
This center regulates the manufacture and distribution of food additives and drugs given to animals.

Plants Poisonous to Livestock and Other Animals
Includes plant images, pictures of affected animals and presentations concerning the botany, chemistry, toxicology, diagnosis and prevention of poisoning of animals by plants and other natural flora (fungi, etc.). From Cornell University.

Plants Toxic to Animals
From the University of Illinois Veterinary Medicine Library.This database brings together information available in library books, plants grown in their Poisonous Plant Garden, mounted specimens of plants, and the reference notes for a toxicology course (VB320) which is taught during the fall semester each year.

TOXNET
The Toxicology Data Network, maintained by the United States Library of Medicine, is a good place to search for toxicology information and studies. Abstracts of many articles are available in TOXNET.

Toxicology – Merck Veterinary Manual 
Direct access to the toxicology section of the manual.

Back to Category Table

Laboratory Animal Research

Altweb – Alternatives to Animal Testing on the Web
Offers links to other animal welfare and alternatives testing sites. Full sets of clinical research images, most of which are open to public, and a good basic veterinary terms glossary are also online.

Guide for the Care and Use of Laboratory Animals
Search this book online.

Institute for Laboratory Animal Research
Evaluates and reports on scientific, technological, and ethical use of animals and related biological resources, and of non-animal alternatives in non-food settings.

Office of Lab Animal Welfare
Policies, laws, certifications, grant information, and other resources pertaining to treatment of animals used for research by the U.S. National Institutes of Health.

Office of Animal Care and Use
An information resource for those involved in the conduct of biomedical research.

Back to Category Table

Nutrition

Purina Veterinary Diets
Canine and feline nutrition information provided by Purina. Free registration is required. (Recommended by Vet Tech instructors.)

HillsVet.com
Hills, the maker of ScienceDiet and Hills Prescription Diets, provides useful information on research, nutrition, and practice management to veterinary professionals.

Nutritional Requirements of Dogs and Cats
Downloadable booklets about dog and cat nutritional requirements from the National Academy of Science.

Back to Category Table

Parasitology

Veterinary Parasitology Quizzes
These quizzes are sponsored by The University of Wisconsin.

Companion Animal Parasite Control
Recommendations and Guidelines from CAPC.

Diagnosis of Veterinary Endoparasitic Infections
This program is designed to aid students, researchers, and clinicians in diagnosing parasitic infections.

Back to Category Table

Surgery / Anesthesia

Principles of Surgery
Nice set of captioned photographs on various aspects of preparation for veterinary surgery. Includes surgical instruments, preparing equipment for surgery, preparing the surgeon for surgery, preparing the patient for surgery, and sutures and suture handling. From the University of Pennsylvania School of Veterinary Medicine.

Veterinary Anesthesia and Analgesia Support Group
A centralized resource for those interested in advancing veterinary anesthesia and pain management at their small animal practice.

Back to Category Table

Zoonotic Diseases

CDC’s Healthy Pets, Healthy People
General information on a various of diseases spread by animals or parasites from animals.

Zoonotic Diseases, A to Z
Each entry contains a concise description, as well as links to more in-depth information.

Zoonotic Diseases Tutorial
This tutorial has been developed as an educational resource on zoonotic diseases for veterinary, medical and nursing students and practitioners, and anyone interested in these infectious diseases.

Zoonotic Diseases – UCSB Office of Research 
A more extensive list, categorized by disease. Each entry includes vector animal/transmission mode, incubation period, clinical features, pathology, diagnosis, prognosis, prevention and treatment.

Back to Category Table

Associations & Organizations

  • AVMA — American Veterinary Medical Association
  • NAVTA — National Association of Veterinary Technicians in America
  • Humane Society of the United States
  • AAAS — American Association for the Advancement of Science
  • AABP — American Association of Bovine Practitioners
  • AAEP — American Association of Equine Practitioners
  • AAFP — American Association of Feline Practitioners
  • AAHA — American Animal Hospital Association
  • AALAS — American Association for Laboratory Animal Science
  • AASRP — American Association of Small Ruminant Practitioners
  • AASV — American Association of Swine Veterinarians
  • AAV — Association of Avian Veterinarians
  • ADSA — American Dairy Science Association
  • ASAS — American Society of Animal Science
  • ISVMA — Illinois State Veterinary Medical Association
  • MVMA — Missouri Veterinary Medical Association
  • NWRA — National Wildlife Rehabilitators Association
  • PSA — Poultry Science Association

Back to Category Table

Back to Top

Advertisements